Week 7 – First Blood…

It’s Wednesday . I am exhausted.

Great session on Monday working on technique and footwork with Coach G. I am not going to repeat myself  but I always feel there ‘s so much I need to learn…And the clock is ticking!

Yesterday I had my one on one with Monster Will. 110kgs of trained meat with a killing instinct. Thank god I am a client (so I thought)

I know I said I wasn’t going to spar to protect my rib but the urge to know if I had made any progress  was too difficult to ignore and we agreed to restrict it to head shots.

I don’t know if I forgot to move, or if I was  tired or if I am simply useless but punches came hard and faster than I could see them. Never before did I pray for the bell until then! When it came it was relief. It felt like pure survival.  When I was finished, my nose was bleeding,  my lip swollen and my head sore. I was pissed off at myself for being unable to apply any of the principles  that I have been trying to learn for the past few weeks. Too slow, too static, too linear, not enough attacks. I was bitterly disappointed.

So here I am, I guess it was meant to happen : first bloody nose. Sharp reminder of how much remains to be done in the next half of my training program.

So I wiped my face off, took a deep breath and joined the conditioning class that was starting right away.

No rest for the wicked.

More later in the week.

The W.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

